Types of Trigger Node

Updated 1 week ago by Totalcloud

There are four types of triggers, namely Schedule, Recurrent, Custom, and HTTP.

Let's look at each of them:

  1. Schedule: This triggers the workflow at a specific day of the week, at a specific time. You must select all the days of the week, if you want a workflow to start everyday at a specific time. This trigger is suitable for CRON jobs, Ops tasks, DR tasks, periodic auditing tasks, etc.

Example: If you select Monday from the Day’s drop down menu, and 9:10 am from the Time’s drop down menu, your workflow will start every Monday at 9:10 am.

  1. Recurrent: This triggers the workflow at periodic intervals. This trigger is suitable for workflows involving invoking of Lambda functions, Ops , or monitoring tasks.


  • Trigger the workflow every 5 minutes
  • Trigger the workflow every hour
  1. Custom (Coming soon): This triggers the workflow according to a "CRON expression.” With this, you have the flexibility to define your CRON jobs according to your needs. This trigger is suitable for a fine-grained schedule control that Schedule trigger cannot suffice.


  • Start a workflow at 8am on the first Monday of each month during the year 2019. The CRON expression you could use for this is "cron(00 08 ? * 2L 2019)".
  • Start a workflow at 9am every last Friday of the month to shutdown a test env EC2 instance. The CRON expression you could use for this is "cron(00 09 ? * 6L 2019-2025)".
  1. HTTP (Coming soon): This trigger helps initiate a workflow by calling a HTTPs URL. Each workflow has a unique HTTPs endpoint that can be used to trigger the workflow either by calling it Manually or Programmatically".
All time specs are in GMT.

For more usage examples, click here.

How did we do?